Home » ISIR » Presentation

The Institute of Intelligent Systems and Robotics

The advent of artificial intelligences and robots is inducing profound transformations in our societies. Isir researchers help to anticipate them by working on the autonomy of machines and their ability to interact with human beings.

Gathered in multidisciplinary teams, they create drones, micro-tweezers, bionic prostheses, social robots, surgical arms and all kinds of intelligent and interactive systems, physical, virtual or mixed reality. Their applications address major societal challenges: health, industry of the future, transport, personal services.

Our research

We develop models from these:

Engineering, to characterize the dynamic behavior of high mobility robots in complex physical interaction with their environment.

Neurosciences or human movement sciences, to describe the cognitive and sensory-motor functions of living beings and to exploit them in the control of robots.

Psychology, for the characterization of the socio-interactive behaviors of human beings, among themselves or with machines.

We design and produce:

Robotic systems, real or simulated, equipped with algorithms for the control and processing of information, to achieve sensorimotor, learning, or interaction capacities superior to those of the state of the art.

Interfaces, to optimize the interaction between people and their environments, digital, physical, or mixed.

We validate these proposals:

Through experiments which realistically reproduce the environment of the targeted applications, in order to verify their robustness (for example: health, factory of the future, all-terrain mobility).

Through experimental campaigns involving human people. For this, we define rigorous protocols to guarantee the scientific value of the results, in compliance with ethical rules and laws protecting the person.

Our supervisors

ISIR is under the supervision of Sorbonne University which is a world-class multidisciplinary university. The laboratory is located on the Pierre and Marie Curie Campus within the Faculty of Science and Engineering. The laboratory is also under the supervision of the CNRS (the French National Centre for Scientific Research) which is one of the most important research institutions in the world.

ISIR is attached to two institutes: IUIS, The University Institute of Health Engineering of Sorbonne University, and INS2I, the CNRS Institute of Information Sciences and their interactions.

Inserm, the French National Institute for Health and Medical Research, also supervises the AGATHE team for its medical research.

Valuation and transfert

Partnership research

The ISIR is involved in numerous collaborations with companies. We support our partners to strengthen their innovation capabilities and gain competitiveness on new markets opened by robotics and artificial intelligence in many sectors.

Our partners

Start-ups

ISIR researchers are also at the origin of several start-ups, either because they are personally involved in their operation, or because they transfer technologies through the assignment of rights to exploit inventions or know-how.

Start-ups resulting from the Isir

Equipment and platforms

With more than 800 m² dedicated to experimental activities, the ISIR maintains one of the largest robot parks in Europe.

The experimental platforms support the activities of all teams. They are made up of commercially available devices, or made by the technical department in our workshops. You wish to use them for your R&D studies? It is possible, contact us.

Three platforms support federating projects selected by its Scientific Council and supported via shared resources at the ISIR:

Other platforms:

Our 5 teams

Making a surgeon’s gesture safer and more precise, improving the mobility of a disabled patient, completing the limb of an amputee with a bionic prosthesis, these are the objectives of the researchers of the AGATHE team. Their approach: comanipulation, when the possibilities of the Human and the robot are combined in the realization of a gesture or a task.

Read more

Equipping robots with intelligence means, among other things, enabling them to learn to interact with their environment. As physical agents, they are confronted with problems similar to those faced by living beings. As a result, within the AMAC team, researchers from complementary disciplines collaborate: artificial intelligence and modeling of living things, including computational neuroscience. On the one hand, we allow robots to adapt, learn or evolve; on the other hand, we build and validate, thanks to the robot, theories explaining certain cognitive functions of living beings.

Read more

The objectives of the researchers of the IME team are to enable the manipulation of objects in digital, virtual, distant or microscopic worlds, to increase our perception of reality via visual or haptic stimuli, and to optimize multimodal interactions between a machine and the human. They produce interfaces, models and interaction scenarios for numerous applications, intended to enrich the vision of what the intelligent workshop of the future could be.

Read more

To be able to interact naturally with a human being, an avatar, whether physical or virtual, must integrate perception and communication skills that involve social interaction. The researchers of the PIRoS team are working on this with a focus on applications in the field of assistance for people with disabilities.

Read more

The main objective of the researchers of the SYROCO team is to equip high mobility robotic systems that will evolve in unfamiliar environments, with the capacity to adapt to these uncertainties. Their work is based on optimal mechanical design and automation, while integrating the numerical tools of simulation and artificial intelligence.

Read more

Home » ISIR » Présentation

L'institut des systèmes intelligents et de robotique

L’avènement des robots et des systèmes d’intelligence artificielle induit des transformations profondes dans nos sociétés. Les chercheuses et les chercheurs de l’ISIR contribuent à les anticiper en travaillant sur l’autonomie des machines et leur capacité à interagir avec les êtres humains.

Rassemblés en équipes pluridisciplinaires, les chercheuses et les chercheurs créent des drones, micro-pinces, prothèses bioniques, robots sociaux, bras chirurgicaux et toutes sortes de systèmes intelligents et interactifs, physiques, virtuels ou de réalité mixte. Leurs applications adressent des enjeux sociétaux majeurs : santé, industrie du futur, transports, et service à la personne.

Nos recherches

Nous élaborons des modèles issus :

De l’ingénierie, pour caractériser le comportement dynamique de robots à haute mobilité en interaction physique complexe avec leur environnement.

Des neurosciences ou des sciences du mouvement humain, pour décrire les fonctions cognitives et sensori-motrices des êtres vivants et pour les exploiter dans la commande des robots.

De la psychologie, pour la caractérisation des comportements socio-interactifs des personnes humaines, entre elles ou avec des machines.

Nous concevons et réalisons :

Des systèmes robotiques, réels ou simulés, munis d’algorithmes de commande et de traitement de l’information, pour atteindre des capacités sensori-motrices, d’apprentissage, ou d’interaction supérieures à celles de l’état de l’art.

Des interfaces, pour optimiser l’interaction entre les personnes humaines et leurs environnements, numériques, physiques, ou mixtes.

Nous validons ces propositions :

Via des expériences qui reproduisent de façon réaliste l’environnement des applications visées, afin de vérifier leur robustesse (par exemple : santé, usine du futur, mobilité tous terrains).

Via des campagnes expérimentales impliquant des personnes humaines. Pour cela, nous définissons des protocoles rigoureux pour garantir la valeur scientifique des résultats, dans le respect des règles éthiques et des lois protectrices pour la personne.

Nos tutelles

L’ISIR est sous la tutelle de Sorbonne Université qui est une Université pluridisciplinaire d’envergure mondiale. La laboratoire est hébergé sur la Campus Pierre et Marie Curie au sein de la Faculté des Sciences et Ingénierie. Le laboratoire est également sous la tutelle du CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) qui est une institution de recherche parmi les plus importantes au monde.

De part ses tutelles, l’ISIR est rattaché à 2 Instituts : l’IUIS, l’Institut Universitaire d’ingénierie en santé de Sorbonne Université, et l’INS2I, l’Institut des sciences de l’information et de leurs interactions du CNRS.

L’Inserm, l’Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale, est également tutelle de l’équipe AGATHE pour ses recherches médicales. 

Valorisation et transfert

Recherche partenariale

L’ISIR est engagé dans de nombreuses collaborations avec des entreprises. Nous accompagnons nos partenaires pour renforcer leurs capacités d’innovation et gagner en compétitivité sur les nouveaux marchés qu’ouvrent, dans de nombreux secteurs d’activité, la robotique et l’intelligence artificielle.

Nos partenaires

Start-ups

Les chercheuses et chercheurs de l’ISIR sont également à l’origine de plusieurs start-ups, soit parce qu’ils s’engagent personnellement dans leur fonctionnement, soit parce qu’ils transfèrent des technologies via la cession de droits d’exploitation des inventions ou des savoir-faire.

Les start-ups issues de l’ISIR

Équipements et plateformes

Avec plus de 800 m² dédiés aux activités expérimentales, l’ISIR entretient l’un des parcs de robots les plus importants d’Europe.

Les plateformes expérimentales supportent les activités de toutes les équipes. Elles sont constituées de dispositifs disponibles dans le commerce, ou réalisés par le service technique dans nos ateliers. Vous souhaitez-les utiliser pour vos études de R&D ? C’est possible, contactez-nous.

Trois plateformes sont les supports de projets fédérateurs sélectionnés par son Conseil Scientifique et soutenus via des moyens mutualisés à l’ISIR :

Les autres plateformes :

Nos 5 équipes

Rendre plus sûr et plus précis le geste d’un chirurgien, améliorer la mobilité d’un patient en situation de handicap, compléter le membre d’une personne amputée par une prothèse bionique, tels sont les objectifs des chercheuses et chercheurs de l’équipe AGATHE. Leur approche : la comanipulation, quand les possibilités de l’Humain et celles du robot sont combinées dans la réalisation d’un geste ou d’une tâche.

En savoir plus

Doter les robots d’intelligence, c’est notamment leur permettre d’apprendre à interagir avec leur environnement. Agents physiques, ils sont confrontés à des problèmes similaires à ceux qui se posent aux êtres vivants. De ce fait, au sein de l’équipe AMAC collaborent des chercheuses et les chercheurs provenant de disciplines complémentaires : l’intelligence artificielle et la modélisation du vivant, notamment les neurosciences computationnelles.

En savoir plus

Manipuler des objets peuplant des mondes numériques, virtuels, distants ou microscopiques, augmenter notre perception de la réalité via des stimuli visuels ou haptiques, optimiser les interactions multimodales entre une machine et l’Humain qui l’utilise, tels sont les objectifs des chercheuses et des chercheurs de l’équipe IME. Ils produisent des interfaces, des modèles et des scénarios d’interaction pour de nombreuses applications, destinés à enrichir la vision de ce que pourrait être l’atelier intelligent du futur.

En savoir plus

Pour pouvoir interagir de façon naturelle avec une personne humaine, un avatar, qu’il soit physique ou virtuel, doit intégrer des capacités de perception et de communication qui relèvent de l’interaction sociale. Les chercheuses et les chercheurs de l’équipe PIRoS y travaillent avec, en ligne de mire, des applications dans le domaine de l’aide aux personnes en situation de handicap.

En savoir plus

Doter des systèmes robotiques à haute mobilité, qui évoluent dans des environnements mal connus, de capacités d’adaptation face à ces incertitudes, tel est l’objectif principal des chercheuses et chercheurs de l’équipe SYROCO. Leurs travaux trouvent leurs fondements dans la conception mécanique optimale et l’automatique, tout en intégrant les outils numériques de la simulation et de l’intelligence artificielle.

En savoir plus